Press "Enter" to skip to content

Russia Refuses Visas to Two US Senators, Amid G7 Conflict

Republican and Democratic U.S. senators stated Russia declined to grant them visas for a visit to Moscow next week, amid dispute within Washington and some U.S. allies over whether the nation must be readmitted to G7.

Democratic Senator Chris Murphy stated Tuesday that Russia refused him a visa. Senator Ron Johnson, a Republican, said Monday that his visa application had been declined, which he called “a petty affront.”

President Donald Trump said last week it might be appropriate to let Russia come back to the Group of Seven of superior industrialized nations, telling journalists that earlier Democratic President Obama wanted Russia out of what it was the G8; however, he thought it was “way more appropriate” to incorporate the nation.

Murphy and Johnson are Senate Foreign Relations Panel members and have driven for sanctions. Another Republican, Senator Mike Lee, was given a visa and intended to visit Russia, a spokesperson for Lee said.

The Russian embassy in Washington didn’t reply to a request for remark. However, it tweeted saying Johnson had not applied for a visa at the embassy. The tweet additionally called Johnson “Russophobic” and jeered at his saying he wanted to restore direct discussion with the Russian government.

While it had been rare for U.S. legislators to be denied travel visas, Russia has done so several occasions in the past, particularly those who have pushed for bans against Moscow over its aggressiveness toward Ukraine and intervention in U.S. elections.

And Israel this month blocked two Democratic legislators, U.S. Representatives Ilhan Omar, and Rashida Tlaib, the first two Muslim women elected to Congress, shortly after Trump called on his ally not to let them in.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *